letting the cat out of the bag

26 May

i’m going to be a gestational surrogate.

it was so hard to tell my family and coworkers and friends. not because i am ashamed of what i am doing, but because i was afraid of the judgements they would pass. a common misconception is that surrogates do it for the money. and here’s a secret… that’s not it. because, if you figure it all out, i’ll only be making about $3.42 per hour throughout the pregnancy. for all the morning sickness, extra peeing, the hugeness, the uncomfortable waddling, and the lack of booze… trust me, i’m not doing it for the money. i’m doing it because i’d want someone to do it for me, i’m young and healthy, and i’m at a place in my life where i want to help someone else out for a change.

for my friends and family- this blog is going to be blunt. if you don’t want to read about my uterus (and all that goes with that) and my feelings, then… maybe this isn’t for you. i want to use this blog as a way to educate people about what i am doing, a place for someone to ask any questions, tell you how i am feeling, how the pregnancy is going, and maaaaybeeee, i might complain about how fat i am in 7 months.

so. if you have questions, leave a comment, and i’ll answer.

next up- the science behind this all. i haven’t gotten my calendar yet (they give you a big calendar that tells you what meds to take and how much), but i THINK i am getting it tomorrow. which means i will be starting shots next week.

that’s right. i’ll be giving myself shots. in my belly fat. sounds like fun, right? (i promise photos… just not of my belly fat.)

4 Responses to “letting the cat out of the bag”

  1. Maeco May 26, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Bring on the belly fat sissy.

  2. Nicole? May 26, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    What are the shots for?

  3. abenton111 May 26, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Way to go! I’m very excited to go through this journey with you as you blog about it! Do unto others as you would have them do unto you!

  4. gabi June 5, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    I love how blunt you are. Hehehe I can be too. Can’t wait to follow along.

Leave a Reply

